

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 34

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

Second Session

Thirtieth Legislature

Thursday, June 18, 2020

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

# **Members' Statements**

Mr. Bilous, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview, made a statement regarding economic diversification.

Mr. Williams, Hon. Member for Peace River, made a statement regarding the Fair Deal Panel report.

Mr. Gotfried, Hon. Member for Calgary-Fish Creek, made a statement regarding Alberta's economic relaunch during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ms Renaud, Hon. Member for St. Albert, made a statement regarding funding for social services.

Mr. Turton, Hon. Member for Spruce Grove-Stony Plain, made a statement congratulating the graduating class of 2020.

Ms Hoffman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Glenora, made a statement regarding postsecondary education funding.

Mr. Schow, Hon. Member for Cardston-Siksika, made a statement recognizing Father's Day.

Ms Rosin, Hon. Member for Banff-Kananaskis, made a statement regarding Indigenous education funding.

Mr. Rutherford, Hon. Member for Leduc-Beaumont, made a statement regarding stage 2 of Alberta's relaunch during the COVID-19 pandemic.

#### **Introduction of Bills (First Reading)**

Oral notice having been given June 17, 2020:

- Bill 24 COVID-19 Pandemic Response Statutes Amendment Act, 2020 Hon. Mr. Shandro
- Bill 25 Protecting Alberta Industry from Theft Act, 2020 Hon. Mr. Schweitzer

### **Tabling Returns and Reports**

Ms Hoffman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Glenora:

Letter dated June 12, 2020, from Dr. David Turpin, President; Dr. Jennifer Tupper, Dean of Education; Andrew Sharman, Vice President (Facilities and Operations); Dale Askey, Vice Provost (Learning Services) and Librarian; Debbie Feisst, Head Librarian (HT Coutts); and Bill Flanagan, Incoming President, regarding the closing of the HT Coutts Library

Sessional Paper 207/2020

# **ORDERS OF THE DAY**

#### **Government Motions**

25. Oral notice having been given June 17, 2020, moved by Hon. Mr. Nixon:

Be it resolved that

- 1. A Select Special Democratic Accountability Committee of the Legislative Assembly be appointed to review
  - (a) the questions posed by the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General in the document entitled "Proposed Questions for Review by a Standing or Special Committee" (Sessional Paper 192/2020),
  - (b) the Election Act, and
  - (c) the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act;
- 2. The Committee consists of the following Members:

Schow (Chair)	Dang	Rutherford
Horner (Deputy Chair)	Goodridge	Sigurdson (Highwood)
Allard	Nixon (Calgary-Klein)	Smith
Ceci	Pancholi	Sweet

- 3. The Committee may limit its review of the Election Act and the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act to sections of those Acts that the Committee selects for consideration;
- 4. The Committee continues despite a prorogation of a session and may, without leave of the Assembly, meet during a period when the Assembly is adjourned or prorogued;
- 5. Reasonable disbursements by the Committee for advertising, staff assistance, equipment and supplies, rent, travel, and other expenditures necessary for the effective conduct of its responsibilities shall be paid, subject to the approval of the Chair;
- 6. In carrying out its responsibilities, the Committee may utilize the services of employees of the Legislative Assembly Office or, with the concurrence of the head of a department or an Officer of the Legislature, utilize the services of employees of the public service employed in that department or office;
- 7. The Committee must submit a report to the Assembly
  - (a) on the questions posed by the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General, within 4 months after commencing its review of the matters referred in accordance with this motion, and
  - (b) on its review of the Election Act and the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act, including any amendments to the Acts recommended by the Committee, within 6 months after commencing its review of the matters referred in accordance with this motion;
- 8. If the Assembly is not sitting at the time a report of the Committee is completed, the Chair of the Committee may release its report by depositing a copy with the Clerk in accordance with Standing Order 38.1 and forwarding a copy to each Member of the Legislative Assembly.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

#### **Government Bills and Orders**

#### **Third Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 19 Tobacco and Smoking Reduction Amendment Act, 2020 — Hon. Mr. Shandro

A debate followed.

Mr. Nixon moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

# **Government Motions**

24. Oral notice having been given June 16, 2020, moved by Hon. Mr. Kenney:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly

- a) condemns racism and all forms of bigotry and hatred;
- b) affirms the commitment of Alberta to human dignity and equality of all before the law;
- c) acknowledges the pernicious and durable nature of anti-Black racism;
- d) acknowledges a tragic history of racism directed at Indigenous people in Canada; and
- e) urges the Government to consider these issues in its ongoing review of the Police Act.

A debate followed.

Mr. Deol, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Meadows, moved that the motion be amended by striking out clause (e) and substituting the following:

- (e) urges the Government to ensure that these issues, and the voices of racialized communities, are considered in its ongoing review of the Police Act by immediately establishing an advisory panel
  - (i) to conduct hearings throughout the Province to examine, and make recommendations in respect of, systemic racism in Alberta,
  - that consists of members of the Anti-Racism Advisory Council, provincial Indigenous leadership, and Black Lives Matter chapters of Alberta, and
  - (iii) to publish a report with its findings and recommendations no later than October 1, 2020.

Sessional Paper 208/2020

A debate followed on the amendment.

Mr. Schow moved adjournment of the debate on the amendment, which was agreed to.

## Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Nixon, Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 3:51 p.m. until Monday, June 22, 2020, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Nathan M. Cooper, Speaker

Title: Thursday, June 18, 2020

4